A Sketch

​I sketched my mother a little while ago.

On a sheet pure like her soul.

Waves of charcoal lined up in grace 

To form her angelic face.


Her sparkling eyes that used to cherish everything,

Were today stuck at one place.

I, being a little selfish,

Drew them like they are watching my face.


While shading her cheeks I remembered,

How beautiful she used to look.

Never did I see them dull,

Never did I see them crook.


Her lips that sang to me once

were suddenly shut today. 

I shaded it darker and darker.

Longing and craving for it to say. Anything that I will keep alive always and in every way.


Her voice is in my head that didn’t die.

She had short hairs that would always fly across my cheeks and across my eyes.

But today they were not undone.

Instead, tied in a bun.


When I shaded her hand I recollected the memory of my hand in hers. 

How mystically just being in them my wounds would start to cure.

I still feel her hands that dried.

My happy tears and sad cries.


I shaded my mother a little while ago.

And now, a little more about her I know.

68 Replies to “A Sketch”

  1. Well, I am always upset that I never got a chance to meet her! But you know when I see you I am so sure that you are just like her. You reflect her compassion, kindness and positivity. So I don’t think she is gone somewhere. You have very well managed to keep her alive forever in you. She lives in your smile, in your goodness.
    About the sketch! It’s the beauty of the both the ladies – the one who is in picture and the one who has sketched it, which took it to next level of perfection. And about the poem! You are writing your soul these days! Every word can be felt and every emotion can be experienced. I wasn’t reading it, I was deciphering it.
    Your mother is so proud of you. Believe me. 😊

    Liked by 4 people

    1. I don’t know what to say… As a child when someone said that you look like your mother, I used to fight because I always wanted to be told that I resemble my father… But today the only thing I want is to become atleast 1% like her… Trust me, I am not even close to what she was… But yes I try my best…. Thankyou so much… This is the loveliest comment I could get.. 😊 may God bless you

      Liked by 4 people

  2. Beautiful.. Now I got to see the better version of the photo hanging on the wall. This poem would have given you peace. It gave me too. Keep writing dear. May your mom’s blessings be with you.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. First of all, it is the biggest compliment to realise that you remember about that picture on the wall… I can’t explain how happy I am after reading your comment… Yes, this poem is really close to my heart… Thankyou for stopping by… And may God bless you😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. you are not learning, well we all do that all our lives, I read your work and you are a teacher, I am so thankful for your contribution. please accept you are teaching by learning… peace and love to you and yours…it is my evolution to read your work.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Woww… I accept it… I believe that we all are teachers for oneself. We motivate ourselves. We fight for ourselves… and yes we also work to improve oneself… I am really honoured by knowing that you learn from my posts… But it is your greatness that you find time to read my posts… Thankyou so much for that😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

