THE UNPAID PROSTITUTE #03

THE ONE AND ONLY HEARING. 

CHAPTER-03

It was the first hearing of Abhishek Shetty’s murder case. In that small kiosk of a police station, Sonali was the only one who was happy. There was a disturbing and shocking smile on her face. For her, it was better to live in a small rugged cubicle, than to die everyday on a bed of saturn. It has been ten days since her husband’s death and she had still not decided to speak. 

The purpose of the murder was quite clear from the diary found in Sonali’s closet. Every page of her diary cried her heart out. There was pain and suffering in every spill of ink. One could easily imagine her getting screwed with every line in that journal. There was a victim, but accused was none. There were bruises but crime was none.

She spoke for the last time in court-

“I stabbed him in his heart. Not once, millions of times. I made multiple cuts; out of anger, fear, realisation of freedom. I am the murderer. But I am the victim too. I loved him alot. But I do hate him too. He would beat me for saying no. And would hurt me for agreeing. I was allowed to breathe. I was allowed to meet my friends and family. I was allowed to eat. But I was not allowed to say NO. I was raped every time he walked into the room and saw me there. And he called it making love. What changed so suddenly after getting married? I was a girl before and became a woman suddenly. I was supposed to become a wife. How come he made me a prostitute? I am a well-educated, growing scientist who was nominated for the ‘Scientist Of The Year Award’. I signed to take him as my lawful husband. When did I sign for becoming his sex slave? I remember being told that, he will be my god now. I remember getting aware of my responsibilities after marriage. Nobody mentioned that it would rip me apart. Nobody mentioned him being an animal. Nobody mentioned me being a prostitute. And even after marriage, I did try to understand him. I did try to compromise and adjust. But the pain I suffered daily for about two years was way more than my level of tolerance. That day I decided to end it. End of pain. End of crying. End of living. He justified his crime by saying that I am his ‘wife’. I don’t justify my crime. I just have one last wish to make. I want every parent to promise that they will make their girls aware that she has to become a ‘wife’. Tell her before marrying her. Prepare her. Tell her that she is born to become a prostitute ultimately. Don’t send her unprepared please. Show her the reality, that their is a man out their for your little princess who will use her body, inch by inch. Bruise her for every denial. And feed on her every night.

I plead myself guilty. Not for killing him. But for suffering so long.”

“Every Indian house has a Sonali who suffer this. The percentage of women that revolt is really low.

A ring and a pinch of vermilion is not a consent for getting raped. This is hard to understand. I feel sad for being a part of such a society. 

And the worst part is that, it is not a criminal offence.”

Also read chapter 02 here and chapter 01 here

Please share your views.

11 Replies to “THE UNPAID PROSTITUTE #03”

  1. Marital rape is not a criminal offense. I don’t know why marriage is considered as a certificate for dominating a lady physically as well as mentally. I mean how come you decide what she has to do?
    Beautifully captured words, all the truth has been spoken.Nobody could have done this job better. I am stunned but I am not surprised. This is exactly your way! Keep making me proud of being related to you.! I love you. But now I surely love your words the most! I can’t award you but your reward is on your way! *_*

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yes right. Who gets to decide what she has to do? And Why do anyone have to decide?

      I love you too…. 😘😘😘Thank-you SOO much πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ
      I am really looking forward for my reward. What is it?πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marital rape is awful and under-reported. It stems from society’s view that women are just here to serve men, and this is a wrong and dangerous belief. Your writing is so powerful, this really stood out to me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

